Breaking News

League Update

It’s been a very busy winter for the new committee over the past three months.

  • The media coverage with the revelation of the racism scandal in cricket
  • New club applications
  • Creation of the new play cricket league website
  • Club registration for Season 2022

We wish to thank all the 35 member clubs who have now registered their club for forthcoming season 2022. Some clubs have already settled their league fee for the season, the remaining clubs now need to settle the due by the 31st January 2022.

The Executive Results and Registration Officer, Methab Afzal has been busy setting up the league’s new play cricket website. The league will use the website for player statistics, results and player registration. Training will take place on Tuesday 1st March 2022 and further details will be confirmed as soon as the new website is completed. Clubs Secretary are required to collect the following information in preparation for the training and to ensure player registration are completed in one training session.

1) Players First Name
2) Players Surname
3) Home Address
4) Home Postcode
5) Date of Birth

Note: All data will be held on the club’s Play Cricket website and can not be viewed by anyone else other then their own club.

The committee met on Sunday evening to complete the fixtures for the forthcoming season. We were able to complete the following draws:

  • New fixtures for Premiers Section
  • Cup Competition (all Premier section teams in season 2021 and the top 3 teams in both Crescent and Star Section)
  • Shield Competition (all clubs in Crescent and Star Section position 4 and below in season 2021 and 2 new member clubs in season 2022 who were drawn out with the 3 other new applications)
  • The hundred Competition (top four clubs in the Premier, Crescent and Star Section)

The above draws will be posted on the league website and the league YouTube channel with links on Instagram (quaideazampremiercricketleague) and Facebook (quaideazampremiercricketleague).

Due to the success and the strength of the recent new club applications we announced the extension of the both the Crescent and Star section to 12 but a new application inline with the leagues ambition to promote cricket to young players has been accepted and now requires a bold new restructure of the lower sections to give all clubs the best opportunity to gain promotion without disadvantaging clubs or compromising the league constitution as agreed in November 2021.

After a lengthy discussion the committee agreed to create an extended pyramid structure based on league table standing of season 2021.

New Structure

  • To create a new Jinnah Section
  • Two out of the three section will have 8 teams and one with 9, all teams will play a round robin of home and away fixture with each club playing 14/16 games.
  • Top two from each section will play in the play offs (each club will play 4 games against the top two of the other two sections). The team in first place will be deemed the champion and the second-place team will be promoted into the Premier Section.
  • Top six will automatically be entered into The Hundred in season 2023 and the remaining two place will be allocated to the two teams with the highest points in anyone of the three sections.
  • As it will be a shorter season for those not making the play offs the league will introduce the T20 knockout or points based competition – further details will be provided.

Season 2023 three tier structure will be as follows:

– No change to Premier Section, but the teams relegated at the end of Season 2022 will both go down to the Crescent Section.
– Crescent will be the 2nd section, excluding the two relegated teams, 8 teams will join the Crescent section in Season 2023. The 8 teams will be as following – the remaining 4 teams in the play offs, plus all the teams in third position (3 teams) and the 8th place will go the team with the highest points in 4th place of any section.
– Jinnah Section will be the 3rd Section, remaining 2 teams in position 4, all teams in position 5 & 6 and two with the highest points out of three in position 7 will join Jinnah Section.
– The Star Section which will be the 4th section which will be made up of the remaining 7th place team, all three 8th position teams and the 9th position team plus all new applications

The committee will meet again on 19th January 2022 to draw the teams for the three sections and their fixtures, including play offs.

All the fixtures will be made available on Sunday, 23rd January 2022, a week earlier than originally planned.

Check Also

League Match Report

Match Report – 23rd June 2024

A perfect day for cricket with some excellent individual performances and a few very close …


Live Streaming – Bhalot Strikers CC v Whiterose CC


T20 Bradford Inter League Charity Cup – 26th June 24, 6.00pm

Preparation are in place for the match of the season, Quaid e Azam Premier Cricket …