Breaking News

Yasmin & Shahid Solicitors Cup Final 2018 – Match Report

Yasmin & Shahid Cup final – Sunday 12th August 2018 @Saltaire cc

For full match Scorecard pls click here: SCORESHEET
It surely has been one of the best summers till now, and despite some fears of The 2018 Yasmin & Shahid Cup final being cancelled, the staff at Saltaire cc once again did an absolutely fantastic job by preparing the ground in the nick of time.

Yes, it was the repeat of the 2017 final once again between Darulshafa & OnQ, however, this time the conditions were different, teams were slightly different and the result was also different.

Darulshafa, won the toss and elected to bat, which seemed at the time a ‘little risky’, however, skipper Ayyaaz Akram had made a number of changes to his starting XI compared to last year’s cup final team, & knowing the pressure OnQ were put under, it was a decision Ayyaaz & his men were comfortable with. However, the fall of Darulshafa’s aggressive opening batsman, Naik Zada (4) when the score was only 7 so early, had Darulshafa on the back foot. Wicket Keeper Imran Mirza taking the catch off Faisal Zishan’s bowling was just the start OnQ were looking for.
A second wicket partnership of 17 runs between Awais Hussain & Siraj Hussain took the total to 24, however, just when you thought Siraj, who was looking good, hitting two boundaries & a few singles was also sent back to the pavilion as he was cleaned bowled by Tauseef Arshad.
A 30 runs partnership between Awais & Arsaam Malik took the total to 54, however, this time Awais was the victim of Yasir Abbas, as wicket Keeper Imran Mirza took his second catch with no pressure.
With one additional run, Tauseef Arshad picked up two quick wickets. First to go was, Arsaam Malik who was trapped LBW for 14 & Skipper Ayyaaz Akram who was sent back to the pavilion for a duck. with the score at 55-5, Darulshafa were in serious trouble.
A good partnership was extremely required, and with two new men at the crease, Amar Rashid and Azhar Mahmood, they did not fail to deliver. A partnership of 58 runs took Darulshafa’s total to 112-6 as Rashid was bowled for 32 by left arm spinner Suleman. Mohammed Bilal replaced Rashid who also put on a healthy partnership of 41 with Azhar Mahmood.
OnQ, brought on veteran spinner Kez Ahmed, who changed the dynamics of the game, by breaking a potentially dangerous partnership between Bilal & Azhar.
Mohammed Bilal (24) & Azhar Mahmood (28), both falling to Kez Ahmed, took Darulshafa’s total to 164 for 8. In the end, the tail enders put on a further 19 runs amongst themselves by setting OnQ a challenging total of 184 to win.

In reply, OnQ Picked up 9 runs from the first over which was just the start OnQ were looking for. However, losing Adil Islam, in the second over to Shazada Khan, who was caught by wicket Keeper Naik Zada wasn’t the start they had in mind. It got worse when Raqeeb Younis was also sent back to the pavilion for a duck, as he was LBW by Maaiz Khan. Situation was bad as OnQ were 14-2 within 3 overs.
Looking at the situation, Adam Patel went on the charge, as he hit a quick 32. Time for some strategic, thinking, Skipper, Ayyaaz Akram made a quick change to the bowling attack as Mohammed Bilal replaced Maaiz Khan & despite getting smashed for two consecutive boundaries Mohammed Bilal took the big wicket of Adam Patel in his first over. With the score at 55-3, Darulshafa began to build the pressure upon OnQ. Mushy Shah (5) didn’t stay for long, Suleman Khan was LBW by Amir Hamzah for 15. OnQ now, extremely worried as they found themselves 78-5 in the 14th Over.
After scoring another 8 runs OnQ lost the wickets of Iftikhar Naseer to Amir Hamzah who picked up 2 for 32 & & Imran Mirza to Mohammed Bilal who picked his third wicket also for 32 runs.

OnQ saw some hope as Yasir Abbas hit a few huge sixes off the bowling of Amar Rashid, however with the lack of support Yasir Abbas was helpless. Amar Rashid was far too intelligent for OnQ’s tail. Just like Rashid delivered with the bat at a crucial stage during his sides innings. Darulshafa needed him to deliver with the ball. Rashid, did not disappoint, as he out thought the OnQ’s tail by bamboozling all 3 tail enders with some amazing spin.
An all-round performance by Amar Rashid, firstly with the bat scoring 32 Runs & then taking 3 for 14, without doubt, made him the 2018 Yasmin & Shahid Solicitors Cup Man of the Match & Darulshafa the 2018 Y&SS worthy winners.

Darulshafa CC – Cup Winners 2018


Darulshafa cc Captain – Ayyaaz Akram


MOTM – Amar Rashid


Match Official – Tim Grogan
Match Official – Abdul Aziz
League President – Bash Hussain

Check Also

Match Report – 23rd Sept 2018

Section B Central Leeds are Champions of Section B. Their consistency of winning matches since …